An increasing number of people are now using dating sites to meet their better halves. Do you think that this tendency helps people to socialize or does more harm than good?

Many individuals, nowadays, prefer to find a suitable life partner through matrimonial websites online. This concept is gaining momentum. I believe that this idea is a great way to interact with the person and is considered advantageous, though it may have a few drawbacks. This essay will examine the merits and challenges of this new way of marriage. On the one hand, visiting diverse wedding options online gives both, the boy and the girl a chance to chat with one another casually. Consequently, they are able to share their likes, dislikes, ambitions and hobbies. This proves beneficial and gives them a fair chance to know each other without being judgemental. Moreover, the prospective couple could arrange a meet-up and have a face-to-face conversation. This pre-marital relationship can be prolonged depending upon the compatibility that the would-be mates have. It gives them ample time to develop trust and before tying the wedding knot, they become more of friends than strangers. Thus, these dating sites are of immense help, particularly in arranged marriages. A recent study reveals that 20% of youth, these days, are comfortable finding their soul mate through websites like shaadi.com. On the other hand, finding your partner on social media could be deceptive. The person may not even know the family background. Blind dates have proven to be expensive and unreliable. One can never judge a human by his or her physical appearance or just chatting for a few days. Take, for example, the latest case of a Gujarati boy who was duped by a young woman. This man was shocked when he got to know that the girl was married for the 5th time to extort money from the groom. In conclusion, looking for a suitable match on social networking sites is a novel idea and I personally agree that having known and met the person, develops compassion and trust which are indispensable for a long-lasting relationship. However, anyone may come across some uncertainties but that could be overcome by socialising often.