Many people think that the behavior of professional sportsmen off the field is not important as long as they are good players. To what extent do you agree or disagree with it?

In this contemporary world, the importance of sports professionalism off the field is an inevitable topic. There are a few groups that postulate that being a good player is what is important. I vehemently disagree with this given statement. This essay will expound on my point of view and provide credible examples. First of all, it is widely believed that sports professionalism is essential on or off the court. This is because the true character of a person should not be limited to his close friends and family. These sports personalities should act as role models especially to the youth. Showcasing your true self regardless of the crowd defines who you are as a person. For example, professional boxers should know how to display self-restraint especially when the referee already calls a time-out. This should also be the case when they are in an argument with someone, they should not pick out a fight and should resolve the issue without violence. Another point worth considering is how sports agents nowadays are scouting for sports players. A survey conducted showed that sports agents are not so keen on finding talented players. A key reason for this that is the behaviour of a person cannot be changed and it cannot be taught in schools or during training. It is who he is. However, learning how to become a good player can be achieved through practice and hard work. Perhaps, at the beginning that player will show cooperation and teamwork during practice and in the game, but eventually problems will arise since his true attitude will surface. In conclusion, sportsmen should behave professionally. It is not enough that they are good players. The most important thing are the values that the person exhibits towards his fellow men.