Being a celebrity – such as a famous film star or sports personality – brings problems as well as benefits. Do you think being a celebrity brings more benefits or more problems?

Being a well-known individual might be a dream to some individuals, having to live a lavish lifestyle and influence a large number of followers. In order to become a star might need heavy sacrifices, which can lead to a series of problems of being one. A famous personality is entitled to a large sum of advantages which lead to an easier life. In the media, celebrities tend to live a glamorous lifestyle, for instance, having a mansion with a private lake, earning a trip to different parts of the world, and owning a private yacht. Fame and fortune can also put one in the same room as many influential folks in the country, from movie stars to pro athletes. This can put one in the spotlight and influence a large sum of people in order to gain more popularity, which can be considered the benefit of being well-known. On the other hand, having fame would rather bring disadvantages to some. Celebrities have to bear all the security risks faced in their daily lives. For example, having cameras all over their face all the time and are stalked by fans on a daily basis. Being heavily recognized needs strong effort and dedication as well, which most famous individuals fail to stay relevant in this fast-paced world. In addition, being on the front page of magazines and blinded by the spotlights might be insufferable for some. Thus, fame and fortune could impact mental health negatively for those who aren't capable to bear it. To conclude, I do think being famous brings huge possibilities to improve one's life to be better, but it also has its downsides, which can affect lives negatively.