Some people say that the main aim of advertising is to improve the sales of products that people do not really need. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Opinions differ on whether or not the primary goal of advertisements is to boost sales of commodities even though customers do not truly need them. Although some people would argue against the focus due to certain reasons, I totally agree with the statement. Admittedly, a number of individuals may believe that ad producers should be concerned about the reflection of the authenticity of their product, which means that the content of advertisements should convey exact information about the quality of promoted goods instead of exaggerating it. Several ads for Hao Hao noodles in Vietnam, for example, have been publicly criticized for having shown bowls of noodles that were too unrealistic compared to their true ingredients in a single pack of noodles. Similarly, it has been claimed by many that advertisers must set their goals focusing primarily on the current trends that attract customers. A good example is social media, where users watch memes and share them with others. Some advertisement campaigners have adopted such trendy posts to combine with their promotion to entice certain audiences. However, the aforementioned goals rarely draw attention from people. Meanwhile, sales targets and statistics which are considered important achievements can play a more crucial role as they can incentivize marketers to optimize the effectiveness of their companies’ advertisements. Apple, for instance, has successfully boosted its sales of Iphones by manipulating the psychology of customers with some techniques, which causes people to believe that they really need brand new smartphones manufactured by this corporation to have better convenience. Moreover, such an aim can yield economic benefits, especially spurring the economy, as everybody increasingly purchases products. In conclusion, despite the opinions that advertisements should maintain authenticity and trendiness as principal objectives, I believe that increasing sales revenue is the primary aim of every advertisement, as it can encourage marketers to find the most effective solutions to promote goods and stimulate the economy.