Many old buildings are protected by law because they are part of a nation’s history. However, some people think they should be knocked down to make way for new ones because people need houses and offices. How important is it to maintain old buildings? Should history stand in the way of progress?

There are controversial perspectives heating up a debate over a wealth of old buildings. While some claim that they are protected by the government since they are part of the history of a country, the opposite makes a statement that it is essential for those buildings to be pulled down in order to make way for accommodations and offices. While each has its own perks, I would contend that it is optimal to combine both mentioned factors. Without a shadow of a doubt, preserving pre-existing buildings plays a paramount significant role. Those architectures are part of the history of a country. Apparently, the existence of those constructions can show people alterations in society, the development of a city from the past to the present. For example, Hanoi Old Quarter is an old area with ancient houses formed in the 11th century. Experiencing many wars, but those antique constructions still exist until now and can be considered relics of historical value of the previous centuries. Hence, conserving pre-existing houses is quite significant. While the necessity of maintaining old buildings is widely acknowledged, it is obvious that those buildings should not hold back the way of progress by being demolished. Because the growing society makes the population explode, the demand for land to live is also ever-increasing. Moreover, old buildings are usually small and not enough space for citizens. For instance, Royal City was built from the place of old French colonial houses, so residents now have places to settle and a wide range of offices have been under construction for workers. Therefore, old buildings are essential to be knocked down so as to put up houses and offices for dwellers. To sum up, it is significant to protect old houses when they are part of a country's historical value. However, they should be removed soon in order not to hinder the development of a country.