Some believe that new science related to criminal forensics should be used to look at old cases. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Few people think that unsolved crimes in police records can be resolved by applying the techniques of modern forensics. In my opinion, I strongly agree that this approach should be taken to at least begin with the cases where the proper evidence was collected, however the guilty was not identified due to limitations on the scientific devices. On the one hand, most of the felonies committed by criminals get escaped due to either improper investigation by respective authorities or pollution of the crime scene prior to the investigation. For instance, a few years back in India, a girl and her housemaid were brutally murdered in the house of a doctor's family where the parents were also residing. In that felony, both parents and a few other friends of the maid were identified as prime suspects, however none of them was found guilty due to missing evidence as the police department failed to collect the proof appropriately before the crime area got polluted. Hence, during such scenarios, where there is a lack of conviction by investigating officers there is no point in reopening the case. On the other hand, a few criminals who are deemed to be over-smart try to implant evidence that either diverge the detectives from finding the truth or turns in the innocent. For example, most serial killing crimes get a lot of public and political attention because of which police department could get easily fall for the bait of implanted evidence and capture innocent or couldn't identify the culprit although all the possible evidence are collected and this had happened in many of the high profile cases across the world. As a result, there are many mysteries that went unsolved for years which can be solved by using modern forensic techniques. In conclusion, all felons must get punished before and it is the responsibility of the law-making body to ensure the right offenders get prisoned as they shouldn't get a chance to commit another felony.