In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasize that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

It can be seen in advertisements that the majority of brands are highlighting their products as the new ones in the market. The main reason outcoming this action might be gaining customers' interest in their items. Although it is a bold move for some businesses claiming to be a pioneer, it brings a good motivation for the company to always come up with innovations. In today's era, there are several tools available in advertising, which bring convenience to the business. Strangely, numbers of brands advertise their product with "new in the market" labels. At some point, this strategy is taken to attract people's attention and gain their brand awareness. Customers are easy to get attracted to innovation, especially if things are done uncommonly. Then, if this becomes a talking point, that is the goal for the marketing strategy, indeed. For instance, a cosmetic brand launch its new face powder emphasizing that sun protection is added to the ingredients which lead to some small group discussing it in some forum and it engages large-scale customers. This action may lead to the customer's curiosity about the brand and start trying other products from the brand, perhaps some may recommend it to others. Although for some people claiming products as an innovator is considerably risky, it may affect effectively business growth. Claiming a product to be revolutionary might be triggered other companies to produce something better. Certainly, it gives them a competitive environment which leads to innovations. To illustrate, a watch brand's new product claims to have the first water-resistant technology, their competitor surely does not want to be left behind and perhaps improve the technology that the new watch is able to be brought for diving which needs a certain water resistance technology differently than the basic water-resistant. In conclusion, the pioneer things in the advertisement might be found due to bring exposure for the business and it surely brings a positive impact where companies always innovate their products.