Many old buildings are protected by law because they are part of a nation’s history. However, some people think they should be knocked down to make way for new ones because people need houses and offices. How important is it to maintain old buildings? Should history stand in the way of progress?

There are controversial perspectives heating up a debate over the existence of old buildings. Some claim that they are of importance that are saved by a law system. Meanwhile, the opposite holds a strong view that it is necessary to bring down the aged towers to build new ones. While each has its own perks, I would contend that it is optimal to combine both mentioned ideas. Without a shadow of a doubt, old buildings play a paramount significant role in society that the governments use the law to protect them. It is obvious to note that ancient constructions are part of national history. They keep memories and reflect them. For example, the Hoi An old quarter in VietNam, which demonstrates not only the ancient beauty of a historic city but also the integrity of a nation through 100 years old houses. Therefore, historical buildings need to be maintained. While the importance of maintaining old constructions is widely acknowledged, a number of people believe that they are too old and should be replaced for accommodations and offices. Clearly, nowadays, a population booming leads to a wealth of demand for shelter and workplaces. Hence, the aged towers should make way for skyscrapers. Times City, which is a housing complex in Ha Noi, built in the place where used to be small houses, can be cited as an outstanding instance. It meets a flood of needs for houses and offices. To sum up, although erecting modern towers can change the look of a city, it is crucial to keep old architectures.