Some people think it is better to educate boys and girls in separate schools. Others, however, believe that girls and boys benefit more from attending mixed schools. Discuss these two views and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There are people who would argue that it would be much efficient to teach students in single-sex schools, while others say that co-ed schools are much better instead. I think that students would benefit more in attending co-ed schools as opposed to single-sex schools. On one hand, single-sex schools eliminate any sort of distractions that might occur from romatic interactions between a guy and a girl. Relationships will cause students to focus less on their studies as their minds are preoccupied in impressing the opposite sex. Without this, students are able to focus much better on their studies and do well in their exams. For example, in Malaysia, single-sex schools would score a much higher average score than co-ed schools during the end of year exams. As a result, students from single-sex schools are more successful academically. On the other hand, co-ed schools are much better when it comes to representing how society is in real life, where it is a healthy mix of both genders. It is a very crucial time of development for students at that age. Hence, students should be given the opportunity to develop social skills with their peers so that they can transition well into adulthood. For instance, graduates from co-ed schools can maintain a professional relationship with the opposite gender much better than their unisex counterparts. This would enable them to work more efficiently and get better job opportunities as they are able to work well in a team. Hence it is beneficial for the students' future prospects. In conclusion, both co-ed schools and same-sex schools provide very nice benefits. Same-sex schools would help students in their studies and co-ed school prepare students for the future. Nevertheless, it is my personal belief that being able to develop social skills at a younger age in co-ed schools outweigh the prospect of getting better grades.