Surveillance cameras in banks, officers, shops and streets have been very successful in reducing crime in the workplace and in public, but they are also a tool for their users to spy on people private business. What problems do the use of surveillance cameras create? Is there any solution?

With the growth of technology, especially the advances of surveillance gadgets, it is undeniable that CCTV cameras play an important role in decreasing crime rate in the workplace and in the public. However, these cameras are also a device to watch people private business secretly. This essay will point out the obstacles of using surveillance devices as well as propose solutions to deal with these problems. The main reason for using CCTV gadgets to intrude people privacy is the insecure of surveillance softwares. In fact, many black-hat hackers can easily steal data from surveillance cameras with few lines of code. They will use these photos and videos taken from cameras for commercial purposes or posting on social media. That is why sometimes we see some funny videos taken from CCTV videos. In addition, hackers can earn money from selling surveillance data to third parties. Companies who buy these data may know ours behaviours and private activities, so that they can promote their company’s product easier. For instance, the third party knows that we like buying cellphones base on images exported from cameras, so that they will use phone numbers bought from another third party to sell their products. Hence, CCTV devices can be a useful tool for hacker to spy on ours activities. A possible solution to tackle these problems is to install stronger security systems for surveillance softwares. We can install firewall or 2-factor authentication, which requires users enter stronger passwords so that our private data and information will be protected. In fact, many technology companies use firewall as the strongest tool to keep their essential documents safe. To conclude, various actions can be taken to enhance the privacy of surveillance cameras, so that hackers cannot steal ours private business anymore.