Many old buildings are protected by law because they are part of a nation’s history. However, some people think they should be knocked down to make way for new ones because people need houses and offices. How important is it to maintain old buildings? Should history stand in the way of progress?

There are controversial perspectives heating up a debate over whether to preserve old buildings. While some hold a strong view that they should be protected by the law system, the other makes a statement that old buildings deter the development of the nations. While the former is valid to some, I consider myself a supporter of the latter. Without a shadow of a doubt, it is essential in order to conserve old buildings which are a part of the nation's history. There are a myriad of architectures built from our ancestors that brought a historical value that can not be found for the time being. For instance, The Temple of Literature is the first university of VietNam which brought about historical value and helped the next generation to understand the old college of VietNam in the past. Hence, maintaining old buildings is necessary on this day. While the essential of maintaining old buildings is widely acknowledged, it is unfair if the inconvenience of old buildings is neglected. Houses and offices are the demand of citizens and old buildings occupy a large area so that some old buildings should be terminated with a view to constructing more accommodations and offices. For example in Ha Noi, capital of VietNam, there is a myriad of accommodations which are placed in a place of old buildings such as Royal City or Time City springing up to meet the needs of the residents and help citizens live in a bigger house. Therefore, destroying old buildings plays a paramount significant role in order to help citizens have a better living standard. To sum up, there are various old buildings that need to be protected depending on the importance of them. However, some places need to give its place for accommodations and offices to serve the residents.