Many old buildings are protected by law because they are part of a nation’s history. However, some people think they should be knocked down to make way for new one because people need houses and offices. How important is it to maintain old buildings? Should history stand in the way of progress?

There are some controversial perspectives heating up a debate over old buildings. While some claim that maintaining the old ones is of necessity, others make a statement that those buildings that need to be pulled down are redesignated residential areas and working placement. Overall, while the former is valid to some extent, I consider myself an advocate of the latter. Without a shadow of a doubt, It is necessary for old buildings, which has a nationally historical value, should be preserved by the government. Because the old buildings,which play a significant role in historical success, maintain a national beauty from the past. For example, Thang Long Bridge was constructed by the France architect, which took after the structure of a French building. It expressed an ancient beauty, which can't be substituted by the current building. Moreover, the historical bridge played a paramount role in the Vietnamese revolution in the period of resistance against America. As a result, the old building can't be replaced because of their importance value related to history While the importance of protecting old buildings is widely acknowledged, the old ones hurdle the development of the country. Therefore, Wiping out of it for accommodation plans is of necessity. Because a population boom contributes to the high demand of residential areas where the old buildings are knocked down to build houses and offices for the citizens. For instance, In order to meet an elastic need of houses, Royal City, which is a modern housing complex in Vietnam, is constructed from a wealth of ancient houses. Hence, It is vital to bring down the old building for the housing plan. In conclusion, although the old buildings have their historical value in each nation, it is imperative to build the new one for many purposes.