In many countries, shopping is one of the most popular types of leisure activity. Is this a positive or negative development?

Shopping is one of the most popular types of leisure activity and has become a popular pastime. In my opinion, the disadvantages of shopping outweigh its advantages. In this essay, I will discuss both the positive and negative sides. Firstly, shopping can be costly as a leisure activity. This is due to the fact that the public tries to overspend on expensive apparel and gadgets just to impress their peers. For instance, individuals buy luxury items they cannot afford to show others they are rich. This sets a false standard for their counterparts, which results in everyone spending more than they should. Instead of investing time and money in buying useless things, they can indulge in activities like walking, which is free and good for their health. For example, folks who do not shop have ample time to spend walking or exercising. Acquiring materialistic items can have an unnecessary burden on the budget and one should invest this time in activities for personal growth. On the contrary, shopping might have some advantages, some people argue that shopping can act as a form of relaxation. When people are bored, they can go to a mall and window shop. For instance, walking around a shopping centre, and browsing through the shops can be a very relaxing experience. If people do not shop, they can feel left out of society. A recent study revealed that staying in groups is a healthy lifestyle. Hence, sometimes, shopping can lift your mood but is not the solution to all your problems. In conclusion, as a country's median income increases, so does the money spend on shopping. Shopping can sometimes be very expensive leaving no budget for any other activity. On the other hand, it can elevate your mood in some cases. I believe shopping has more drawbacks than advantages.