In the future, all cars, buses and trucks will be driverless. The only people travelling inside these vehicles will be the passengers. Do you think the advantages of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages. Give your reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

Transportation is very important for humans in travelling as it can cover long distances. Some people predict that in the near future, these vehicles will become autonomous and they will be used to ferry passengers instead. In my opinion, the benefits of driverless vehicles outweigh their potential disadvantages. This essay will discuss both the benefits and shortcomings of driverless vehicles. On the one hand, there are plenty of people who argue that eliminating the need for drivers, this will force a lot of people out of employment. There are plenty of services that require skilled drivers to deliver goods or taxi people from one place to another. Some examples of businesses that rely heavily on drivers are e-hailing services like Uber or Grab and food delivery services like Food Panda and Deliveroo. They employ up to thousands of employees and ensure that their workers can provide for their families. Eliminating an entire workforce abruptly would cause unemployment rates to skyrocket and social issues to resurface. On the other hand, supporters of autonomous vehicles suggest that with lesser human drivers on the road, there will be a decrease in road traffic accidents. Human motorists can get intoxicated or get easily distracted which would make them more prone to making mistakes while driving. This would result in an unnecessary loss of life. Machines and code on the other hand, will not be under the influence of any alcohol or drug, and are void of any sort of emotion. This would enable a much safer driving experience on the roads. For instance, among the road traffic accidents recorded in the USA in the past year, only a very small handful of them involve autonomous cars, whereas a majority of accidents are associated with human error. With the increasing interest in self-driving vehicles along with the introduction of AI in autonomous technology, people are more likely to rely on autonomous vehicles in the near future. In conclusion, critics argue that introducing driverless vehicles may cause hardworking citizens to end up jobless in certain industries. Whereas, some people strongly believe that road traffic accidents will decline instead. Nevertheless, it is my personal belief that they will do more good than harm as saving lives will always outweigh any other argument.