Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

With the prevalence of devices and smartphones, children tend to spend a lot of time on screen nowadays since parents are too busy to look after their kids I reckon that and it's negative for youngsters' development. To start with, adults have been busy with their jobs or busy spending time on their phones. Therefore, it leads caregivers not to have sufficient time to spend on their children. On the other hand, parents send smartphones to their kids as companies, which is the easiest way to keep their children quiet and still. For example, while waiting for food in a restaurant, it is obvious to adults are busy chatting with each other so they use smartphones to parent their young generations. Hence, insufficient time for parents is the main reason to 3C parenting. However, I believe that it is inappropriate for children to spend too much time on screen. Excessive screen time is harmful to their eyes. Moreover, the more time youngsters spend on smartphones, the more likely they may lack interaction with people. For instance, kids who overuse smartphones might lack social skills. Thus, excessive exposure to technology may have a negative impact on children's development. In conclusion, owing to the busy life of parents, young generations are likely to be companied by technology devices recently, which might affect youngsters' eyes and social development negatively.