Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that in many cities around the world there are constant traffic jams. How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from owning cars?

Owning a car for personal use has become a norm in the modern society mainly because of the convenience and flexibility it offers. In addition, cars symbolize ones wealth and prestige in many communities. With all these reasons, use of personal automobiles increased over the last three decades and as a result, the problem of traffic congestion also rapidly escalating. Governments, however, can solve this issue by providing alternative transportation options. To begin with, many people buy cars for their personal use and with this, number of cars entering cities also ever increasing. Individuals owning cars rarely use public transport and share the vehicle with other passengers. This means that roads are filled with a number of cars that exceeds the capacity of those infrastructure. For example, although one person travel in a car, it addes adds hugely to the daily traffic load. Therefore, it is evident that the more people purchase cars, the more it will contribute to traffic jams, particulary during peak hours. As solutions, authorities should improve public transportation and promote the use of alternative means of travelling such as cycling. Although people have private cars, if there are cost effective and comfortable public transport options, many will opt for such alternatives, specially for their routine travelling such as commuting to work. Obviously, there is some crowd who are health consious and willing to use cycling, given the fact that there are safer bike routes and rules in place. In this way, governments can pursuade pursue public to limit car use which leads to reduced traffic problems. In conclusion, people prefer to travel in their own cars but this causes traffic issues in cities. The governments should enhance and expand the public trasnsportation network while encouraging individuals to use other options such as using bicycles.