Some people believe that technological tools such body scanners and CCTV have significantly enhanced our safety and security, while others feel they have resulted in a loss of privacy. Do the benefits of these items outweigh their disadvantages?

There is a belief that body scanners and CCTVs can increase the safety of public spaces, while others believe that these technological devices can bring a negative impact on their privacy. In my opinion, this phenomenon has more benefits than drawbacks. On the one hand, using CCTV may lead to losing the inhabitant's privacy. CCTVs are usually placed in public areas, and they record the data, which are images and videos of the community. This personal information would be under the control of the authority. Therefore, it is possible that the authority misuses these datasets, leading to the leak of personal information. For example, if this data is leaked, some people can use this information to know about others' daily routines, such as working time and use it to get into their houses illegally. On the other hand, applying these technological applications have several advantages. Chief among these is that it can increase the satisfaction of the inhabitant because they feel safe and trust the authority. CCTVs help the police to easily check the public area because they can quickly detect or monitor people who have wrong behaviour on the screen. Another advantage is that the number of crimes in CCTV areas decreases significantly. When installing CCTVs or body scanners in public places, everyone will know these areas have CCTVs, and everything they do will be recorded. Therefore, crimes will avoid in these places, which makes people in these areas will be safe. In conclusion, there is a disadvantage in terms of leaking personal data when applying technological devices such as CCTV and body scanners, while this application can offer many advantages.