Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

More and more people nowadays are considered to suffer from a lot of health problems because of consuming too much sugary food. In this circumstance, many people argue that products containing high levels of sugar had better be made more expensive to make people consume them less. From my personal point of view, this solution is completely reasonable due to two essential reasons. Firstly, making sugary products more expensive can encourage people to consider more thoroughly before making purchases. Specifically, from the economics viewpoint, the higher price is set, the lower demand is. Besides, from the conventional viewpoint of consumers, price is apparently a vital factor affecting purchase decisions, which also means that if the price of sugary products is getting higher, customers tend to buy alternative goods that can still meet their demand. This results in less purchases and consumptions of sugary products, leading to reduction in the rate of ability of suffering from health problems. Secondly, this solution is a way to put more pressure on manufacturers to find methods to keep their positions in the general market. Specifically, when experiencing decrease in the number of customers buying their products, manufacturers surely need to choose other ways to develop, in which investing more in reasearch and development is a strategic direction of many companies. For instance, when people consumed less soft drinks because they felt scared of being obese, Coca Cola did invest in researching and developing a new product called Coca Zero. This product of Coca was considered to be healthier and less in sugar and calories, which has helped it be popular in many years. It is evident that if there are more companies following the strategy like Coca, customers are obviously the ones who benefit most. In conclusion, based on the aforementioned positive effects, I completely agree with the solution that more polices should be made to let the price of products consisting of too much sugar be higher. This measure seems to be beneficial for both consumers and manufacturers in many ways.