Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Recent years have witnessed the increasing number of patients preferring taking alternative medicines to visiting their medical doctor. From my perspective, I regard this trend as a negative development. Granted, some would argue that it is justifiable to embrace such development. More specifically, people, especially those living under the poverty line, may find alternative medicines as one of the most saving treatments to deal with slight illnesses. For example, the use of naturopathy is popularized in treating headache or flu season in Vietnam due to its affordable costs compared to western medicines. However, because of not having been scientifically tested and proven, many of these medicines and treatments may entail latent risk of side effects, allergy or even fatalities owing to anaphylactic shock. Additionally, the aforementioned financial burden can be relieved since there have been many Asian manufacturers, namely India or China, offering medical treatments at reasonable price, leaving alternative ones with a subtle role in curing illnesses. Another reason for not welcoming the alternative medical approach is the lack of equipment. In other words, patients hospitalized in a hospital or clinic appear to be in safe hands of not only skilled and seasoned physicians but also advanced medical devices. Therefore, if a patient had a stroke, modern devices like a defibrillator would be used to ensure the patient's life is saved during his or her golden hour. By contrast, there are no such medical devices in a medical establishment run by alternative medicine practitioners, which means that patients stand a lower chance of being saved when a traumatic injury happens. Lastly, the aforesaid lack of scientific and medical research renders alternative methods unreliable, and therefore, not being covered by medical insurance plans. That means, patients can end up with exorbitant medical bills or not being protected by insurance laws if they negatively interact with these treatments. To conclude, considering the lack of scientific proof, medical devices and insurance coverage, I regard this trend as a negative development.