Today family members eat fewer meals together. Why is this? Is this a positive or negative trend?

These days most families diet separately than in the past. This essay will first suggest that the main causes are spending more time at work and spreading the tendency to eat out, it will then state that this is a negative trend which badly affects on relationship between family members. The main reason for eating meals separately is an increasing amount of time spent at work. Unfortunately, nowadays people are working harder and do not have enough time to eat together with their families. For instance, undoubtedly, all members of families stay together only at dinner, and they are forced to have dinner outside because it is inconvenient to spend time commuting and they prefer to eat a meal with their colleagues and friends. Moreover, there is a widespread tendency to fast food among people, residents think that it is cheaper and more affordable to eat outdoors instead of cooking at home which is more expensive. With regards to the question of negative trends, it can badly affect family relationships because it is vital to communicate and share daily experiences with parents to maintain good connections. For example, recent research by BBC demonstrated that parents who interact and discuss about everything with their children, lead to a lack of secrets which can save them from harmful situations in adolescence. Additionally, spending time with children is important, because if children do not feel support from their parents, they will grow up unconfident. In conclusion, spending more time at work and the widespread tendency of fast-food restaurants are the main causes of eating fewer meals in the family, while it is a negative trend which can lead to a loss of connection between parents and children.