In some parts of the world traditional festivals and celebrations have disappeared or are disappearing. Why is this happening?

Nowadays, some traditional festivals and ceremonial celebrations are now on the brink of dying out. In my school of thought, such a predicament is caused by the difference in political ideologies of some oppressive states and the effect of a rapid-changing world. One of the problems concerns the systematic repression of ethnic minorities imposed by an autocratic state. These ethnic groups were forced and abused to change their traditional lifestyles and cultures to mingle with the majority, for example, In Xinjiang, where Uighur culture was cracked down by China, whose policy was a single ‘state-race’. Many ethnic people were arrested and put in camps for practising long-established religious celebrations and being overly religious, resulting in the loss of some unique traditions. Furthermore, as more cultural groups now have more access to the outside world and move out of their hometowns to find food and jobs, it will be hard for them to maintain their old traditions to pass on to the next generations because of the enormous influence of modern lifestyles and globalisation. International action, individuals, and initiatives promoted by governments worldwide are the best solutions to stop traditional cultures from vanishing. In light of the Uighur event, The United Nations condemned China for its brutality against the Uighur people and took action to put pressure on China to stop the oppression. International communities now defend these groups and can continue practising their traditional customs and religions. Nevertheless, governments in any part of the world can make the most significant change; for instance, states can set up programmes locally or virtually that aim to promote traditional festivals and educate young people on the importance of preserving traditions more appealingly. This happens already in many Universities and schools in Vietnam, where traditional festivals are held for students to wear traditional clothes and celebrate the cultures of ethnic minorities. In conclusion, the loss of traditional festivals is either caused by a brutal policy of a state or a by-product of globalisation, which threatens and damages the cultural identity of various groups. The action of individuals and governments can tackle this development.