Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Owing to advertisements awareness is created for entry products that may be beneficial to improving lives. In my opinion I believe that the advantages of advertisements in terms of promoting things that work efficiently and effectively is stronger than any disadvantages it may have. Firstly, advertisement creates awareness about a product you never imagined existed which may be the key solution to a problem at hand furthermore it may also promote products that serve as a replacements for older tedious way of living. For instance, the invention of different electrical and non electrical kitchen gadgets that has today aided efficient and effective meal preparation without advertisements one wouldn’t know of their existence similarly it has helped reduce drastically the stress that has to be undergone using outdated instruments. Another point to consider is the technical know-how of how these various products operate which is visually displayed in the advertisements in addition it gives insight as to the various ways a product can operate. By this I mean watching an advert will shed more light as to how a product is used or functions, one would practically see how a machine is put together or a food recipe is alternatively prepared so as to get the perfect taste. In conclusion, although there are disadvantages of advertisements, the advantages of it benefiting lives in terms of making things run efficiently and effectively also it serves as an educative medium bringing to light knowledge of how a new product functions supersedes any of its demerits.