Nowadays, more and more people decide to have children later in their life. What are the reasons? Do advantages of this outweigh disadvantages?

Over the past decades, the lifestyles among the contemporary population have significantly changed and the average age of giving birth is older than in the past. In this essay, the factors leading to this phenomenon and its impacts will be analyzed. To begin with, the first and foremost reason why modern citizens decide to have children later is the cost. Nowadays, the development of society improved our living standard, it, however, also increased the expense of raising a child. Parents usually need to spend a great amount of money on their kids in fields such as daycare, education programs and clubs to build their hobbies, all of which does not exist in the last century. Hence, most people decide to accumulate their wealth until it is affordable to upbringing children. Additionally, society in this era is very competitive, thus individuals have less time to spend with their families and ultimately it affects the time of birth. There are both positive and negative impacts of this trend. On the one hand, the delay in having a baby will enable people to have more time on mastering their skills in working and building their social status. Nevertheless, there is some research indicating that this issue is detrimental to society, Most cities especially in urban areas are having problems with the ageing population since the ratio of younger people is continually declining. Hence, having newborn babies to boost the numbers of the younger generation immediately is necessary. In my opinion, the drawbacks of this matter outweigh the advantages. It is time the governmental authorities concerned took proper steps to solve this issue by providing more financial assistance and hopefully parenthood would not be affected by the financial situation in the near future.