In the past most people used to travel to their place of work. With increased use of computers, the internet and the smart phones, more and more people are starting to work from home. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development?

Nowadays technology is an integral part of our life. It provides people with some equipment like computers, cell phones and the Internet to work remotely. Although, I believe that working from home has a lot of advantages, some individuals completely disagree. This essay will explain the positive and negative aspects of remote jobs. Some folk reckon that working from home causes less communication and as time goes on will feel more lonely which is not good for mental health. However, I believe that this group forgot that they are able to have virtual meetings with advanced software like Zoom, Microsoft Team and many more.Another disadvantage that comes up is, that employers are not able to control and monitor their staff and it leads some staff to perform inefficiently, while in my opinion with the advent of technology, everything can be controlled and monitored. There is also the opinion that this type of work reduces work concentration and it is not feasible to focus on tasks in the home environment, while in my view it is possible to provide a distraction-free area at home for working hours. On the other hand, there are a bunch of benefits to working remotely. Firstly, I believe that we can save time and money in this way. Instead of getting up early and dressing up and riding to work we can rest more and save gas. Secondly, working from home allows individuals to do multiple tasks. For example, at lunchtime, employees can take a shower or do some housework, so in this way, people can use their time efficiently. Thirdly, in my opinion, people who work from are more responsible and most of the time they are available and check their emails during non-working hours which would be a great point for companies. In conclusion, as you can see from the points made in this essay, there are both benefits and drawbacks to working remotely. One group states working from home leads to less communication, less focus on the job and less control over employees, while the other group believes it saves time and money, work productivity and more responsibility. However, I feel that the overall advantages would be outweigh the disadvantages.