Many old buildings are protected by law because they are part of a nation’s history. However, some people think they should be knocked down to make way for new ones because people need houses and offices. How important is it to maintain old buildings? Should history stand in the way of progress?

There are some controversial perspectives heating up a debate over the necessity of pre-existing buildings. While some hold a strong view that it is crucial for people to preserve old buildings which are part of a country’s history, some people make a statement that history plays a paramount significance in setting back the progress. The former is valid to some extent, meanwhile, I am an advocate of the latter. Firstly, without a shadow of a doubt, maintaining the pre-existing buildings which are protected by legislation, is of the necessity. To be specific, the old buildings should remain unswerving, on the grounds that they express the ancient beauty of historical stories of nations. For instance, the old quarter, which lies in the heart of Hanoi Capital in Vietnam, preserves a myriad of traditions of old Hanoians such as culture, lifestyle, food, architecture and to name a few. Therefore, it is essential for people to stabilize the ancient building. Secondly, the importance of being unperturbed by pre-existing buildings is widely acknowledged, whereas, a few old buildings need to be pulled down in order to provide accommodations and offices for citizens. To be particular, in this day and age, the explosion in population is ever-increasing, which leads to the high demand for land to live. For example, Time city, where a bunch of inhabitants’ small houses used to be, has sprung up with a view to demanding for spaces to live and work. Hence, the old buildings should be destroyed in lieu of the maintenance due to its progressive reduction. To sum up, it is vital for people to maintain the ancient buildings so as to preserve a nation’s history. On the other hand, some old buildings ought to be terminated in order to construct sky-scraper which dwellers reside in and work.