Some people believe that it is a good idea for young people to take a year off to travel or work between high school and university. Others say it is better for students to go straight on to university after graduating from high school. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

People have a myriad of views about whether high school graduates ought to take a gap year to travel before getting into university. Although there are some good arguments in favour of going straight on to territory education, I personally believe that it is beneficial to take a gap year for pupils to explore their interests and direction. In this essay, I will probe into both sides and explain my own perspective. To begin with, of all the reasons why teenagers should get into university after graduating from high school, probably the most significant factor is that it can save time. As we all know, undergraduate programs normally take 3 to 4 years, if we start further studies straightly, in another word, we can graduate faster without spending an extra year. As the old saying, " time is money" when we graduated earlier, we may have more employment opportunities or have a buffer period for study a master's or PhD in order to unleash our potential. Research conducted by Monash University demonstrates that over 80% of university graduates mentioned that direct entry will be preferred as they can spend time on the profession that they are interested in. It reveals that skipping a gap period allows pupils to use their time wisely, especially in studying or doing internships. Despite the aforementioned reasons why students should study higher education directly, I concur that taking a moment off is more beneficial for them to explore their interests and set clear goals. The first idea popping into my mind is that it broadens their horizons. It is clear that high school graduates are between the ages of 17 and 18, and the majority might not have a clear career path and they have to make the decision of choosing a major. For instance, the youth may be influenced by their parents and teachers and choose some practical and professional subjects, ranging from medicine, nursing and finance to law without considering their own thoughts. In contrast, an enrichment year for teenagers provides a golden opportunity for them to travel to countries where they are curious, such as Australia, the UK and the US or work in the field that they would like to be in the future, like job shadowing with an artist or a doctor. This allows students to open their minds by exploring something new, for example, cultures and working aspects. On the whole, I definitely believe that students should make good use of the gap moment to enrich themselves both mentally and physically before their uni studies. In a nutshell, in spite of the fact that getting into territory studies straightly can help save time in an attempt to search for better job opportunities or study master. However, after taking all aspects into account, I personally believe that having an enrichment year allows the youngsters to have a helicopter vision.