People living in large cites today face many problems in their everyday life. What are these problems? Should governments encourage people to move to smaller regional towns? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, hundreds of houses and apartments are mushrooming, especially in large cities. This is because of the facilities prevailing in a metropolis, like easy access to supermarkets or hypermarkets, entry to famous schools, colleges and universities, and access to nearby hospitals and clinics, amongst others. However, along with the benefits, communities of large cities are also facing several problems in their day-to-day life. These problems shall be discussed in the next paragraph. There has been a surge in noise, water and air pollution,especially in large cities. This is because there has been an increase in the number of people coming to live in big downtown during the last few years leading to a rise in the use of transport like cars, and buses that cause air deterioration. Consequently, pollution is causing many health issues like cancer. For example, Mumbai, one of the largest cities in India, has been experiencing an increase in air and water pollution due to overpopulation, hence, thousands of inhabitants are experiencing various types of diseases. In addition, many families are living in poverty even though they are living in big cities due to limited resources like access to housing. In my opinion, the government should try to tackle this issue by encouraging folk to move to smaller towns. The state should try to provide several types of facilities in smaller towns also so that the population are encouraged to live there, for instance, by constructing good quality roads, hospitals, and schools. The government can try to pursue investors to invest in smaller regional towns thus creating employment. All these measures can be beneficial for smaller regional towns and inhabitants would be happy to live there. To conclude, it is true that today people favour large cities to settle down rather than large cities. However, if the state will try to provide the same facilities in smaller regional towns then some percentage of inhabitants would prefer to move to live in small towns. Hence, large cities should face fewer problems than they are going through nowadays.