Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language?

The disparity between the language barrier and communities has become lesser and lesser every day. Some mention being literate about the languages of other nations was done with regard to travel or work-related activities. But others say that there are many reasons to be an expert in various languages apart from the above-mentioned. In this essay, I will discuss the reasons why people choose to expand their verbal language literacy and its benefits. Firstly, by learning a foreign language you become much closer to that culture and thus, providing more learning opportunities. For instance, as a student hailing from a South Asian country with little knowledge of Mandarin, I found it hard to communicate with the Chinese community when I first landed in China. However, after learning Mandarin and speaking with native people, the bonds were strengthened and became closer to their hearts. So it is evident that once the familiarity with the language is rising, you will attain a deeper level of love and respect from the community. Secondly, being literate in a foreign language will open many doors and provide a number of opportunities for your career development. Furthermore, a myriad of job prospects is available for those who are multi-lingual as they can mediate foreign affairs, bringing international revenue to the company. This is exemplified by a research study which stated that in 2010, the head office of Google occupied 25 different nationalities as their workers and 30% of them were selected on bias because of their high fluency with multiple languages. So, if we expand our horizons and break language barriers we will be able to gain more exposure and a better chance at finding jobs. In conclusion, a linguistic approach to learning a language is favoured by a great population around the globe and it is considered pivotal to forming better communication amidst the differences among nationalities and is beneficial not only related to travel or work but for many other reasons.