Some people believe that it is important to spend a lot of money on family celebrations. While others think it is a waste of money. Discuss both views.

Family celebrations such as weddings and funerals are costly and many people save for years, even a fraction of people borrow to make it look extravagant or have to follow a tradition. Nowadays, it is a debate whether spending a fortune on family celebrations is advantageous or simply meaningless. In this essay, the writer will try to explain both views. There are certain justifications for the high expense of family celebrations. First is cultural appreciation. Weddings, especially for a society that still upholds tradition, can be considered as a ticket for new-family to be welcomed in particular groups. High expense that comes from a long guest list or several ceremonial steps is necessary in order to follow the culture. Besides, It's a once-in-a-lifetime celebration (for some people), so they do think it will be worthwhile. Second, in midst of busy life, family celebrations are usually the only time extended family members can meet one another. People usually want it to be enjoyable and memorable, hence they are willing to pay more for higher quality time. On the other side, certain people questioned the importance of having extravagant or polished celebrations. First, money spent on that one- time event can be used elsewhere. Rather than having big spending on the wedding day, it is better to use it to improve the quality of life after marriage. Second, lavish vacation or family time is not as important as the values that parents need to teach their children. A meaningful and memorable family bonding time is not based on the hotel they are staying at but on the conversation and laughter that happens while they are together. In the writer's opinion, both of the views do have their merits. However, the writer does believe that money spends on weddings and birthdays is justified because, in that way, life can be more memorable.