Some people think that companies and individuals, rather than the government, should pay for cleaning up pollution. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is irrefutable that companies, individuals and government all have their own responsibilities in cleaning up the pollution. However, the way to involve different institutions or individuals in combating pollution should be different in accordance. In my opinion, charging companies and individuals could have better results than charging the government. Disposal expenses in proportion to the output could raise companies’ environmental awareness. Admittedly, it is inevitable for certain industries such as the power industry which is the backbone of the industrial world to generate combustible pollutants in the air or discharge wastewater to the aquatic system. Nevertheless, obligations still lie on the manufacturer’s shoulders they should try to find the optimal way of producing to minimize their contamination. Hence, if removal costs are imposed on manufacturers, they will be encouraged to lessen their pollution production to pay less money. Monetary penalties could also dissuade individuals from polluting the environment. For example, being charged for using plastic shopping bags, consumers would consider using reusable shopping bags instead. Consequently, pollution would be largely reduced. Furthermore, these measures could also help individuals to reconsider their behaviours and the resultant impacts on the environment, fostering a good sense of protecting the environment. However, completely relying on disposal expenses could endanger consumers’ benefits. Firstly, when charged a large amount of money, producers and suppliers will increase their product’s price to mitigate the burden of regulatory costs, which shifts the pressure on buyers. As a result, the consumers would feel unfairly treated since they seem to be charged twice for the same cause. So the government should be involved in administrating the whole process and this comprises the reason why it’s better not to ask them to simply pay for the pollution. In conclusion, the engagement of manufacturers and individuals in cleaning up payments has several positive effects while requiring the government to pay for the environmental contamination might not have the planned effect.