Some people regard video games as harmless fun, or even as a useful educational tool. Others, however, believe that videos games are having an adverse effect on the people who play them. In your opinion, do the drawbacks of video games outweigh the benefits?

It is certainly true that video games have become one of the most important leisure activities over the last decade; however, some people think computer games may have a negative effect on users, in this essay I will discuss the negative and positive aspects of it and I'll argue that it has far more significant drawbacks. The main benefit of it being a fun activity, some people, especially children tend to use it to relax after they are done with their homework, and even parents use video games as a rewarding tool to their kids for behaving well and getting high grades. Moreover, it can be educational too, some institutions of education all over the world already started using computer games as a tool for teaching younger children some of the basics like the alphabet and vocabulary and it has been proven that it is more effective than traditional teaching methods. Despite the obvious appeal, there are several disadvantages to using it. First of all, some video games have more complicated missions; therefore, users of all ages tend to spend hours trying to solve them rather than doing more important tasks. Thus, computer games can be a time-waster. In addition, there is arising new addiction to video games, it was reported in several developed countries about individuals who spend more than 24 hours just playing and as a result, their health got affected badly. In conclusion, for the reasons mentioned above, I would argue that the drawbacks of video games are superior to their benefits.