As countries become more developed, many fast food outlets move into the country giving local people greater access to fast food. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

These days, taking alternative medicines and therapies is becoming common instead of seeing a doctor. Although it would bring potential risks to patients’ health and national finances, I think it is a positive development as it would improve general health and reduce doctors’ workload. On the one hand, it is undeniable to say that substitute drugs would bring a potential risk to people’s health. This is because it is not officially prescribed by a doctor, therefore patients may have a misunderstanding of their symptoms. For instance, one of my friends suffered from a stomach ache and took medicine that she bought at a drugstore, unfortunately a few days after it turned out that the symptom she had was stomach cancer. This could have been avoided if she had seen a doctor in the first place. Furthermore, it also affects the national economy because alternative treatments are generally cheaper and people pay less money in the medical sector. In other words, the government can collect less money which could have been invested into the medical sector. On the other hand, taking substituted treatments can improve general public health. Currently, there is a problem that many people who are in serious condition cannot see a doctor, because most of the doctors’ appointments are full. By utilising a variety of treatments, patients with a high priority can receive necessary treatment, in other words, more lives can be saved eventually. Moreover, it can also reduce doctors’ workload. It is reported in NHK news that most of the doctors are working a huge amount of time after their legal working time. In conclusion, while there are risks to the government's financial and individual health, it can reduce doctors’ workload and allow them to focus on patients with severe symptoms and more lives can be saved. Before taking alternative drugs, it is important that we understand the health problem properly.