The best way to reduce crime among young people is to teach parents good parenting skills. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give your own opinion and examples

These days the young population is committing crimes more than ever before and therefore people opine that good parenting can help to alleviate the situation. However, I do not agree with this statement and this essay will argue why it is not entirely essential to train parents to reduce crime among youngsters. It is insensitive to blame young offenders’ parents for their crimes. These days, people generalize by saying that because of poverty or negligence in parenting the young population is committing more and more crimes. This is a misunderstood notion as everybody has their own mindset. Parenting or family background has no correlation with somebody’s criminal intent. There have been several instances where teenagers coming from educated and affluent families committed illegal activities like cyber crime or violation of traffic rules. Furthermore, parenting is a natural process, and as, such it cannot be taught in classrooms. Consequently, introducing training sessions for parents would not help to control the crime committed by youngsters. On the contrary, criminal tendencies among young people can be controlled by imposing stringent legislation and limiting the use of the internet. Generally speaking, no country has stringent laws against young offenders and as, such there is nothing to deter them from committing crimes. So, imposing strict punishment would surely control the crime rate committed by them. Additionally, the internet has appeared as the root cause of the growing criminal activities by the young population. Thus, parents should be more vigilant about their online activities. To conclude, this essay argued why the training on parenting skills is not effective to reduce the crime committed by their children, instead the government should devise other ways to control the situation.