Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that in many cities around the world there are constant traffic jams. How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from owning cars?

The number of people who own a personal four-wheeler has dramatically raised over the last 3 decades owing to traffic congestion problems in many of the major cosmopolitans and metropolitans across the globe. In my personal view, this trend should take a downward turn before humans witness more frequent unprecedented consequences due to environmental pollution and the health hazards this could potentially lead to. To begin with, the change in the modern day lifestyle leading to excessive usage of cars by the public that is leading to less consumption of public transport even to smaller distances. Consequently, there have been a lot of CO2 emissions from these vehicles leading to air pollution which further causes detrimental health effects to people who are inhaling this oxygen which is polluted along with some hazardous gases. For instance, in New Delhi which is the most polluted city in the world, back in 2019, the air quality index had fallen down much below the minimum level because of which many people suffered from lung and heart diseases. Therefore, the lesser the pollution the better it is for the environment. On the other hand, it is quite challenging for any individual who possesses a personal car to stay away from using it for travelling. Owning is not a serious concern, however the usage is deeply concerning. For example, in the city of Mumbai, on a daily,basis at least 4 million people use public transport to commute within the city, whereas, it is not the same case in other metro cities. Although these many individuals avail the government transport to commute, even then Mumbai is one of the top cities with traffic congestion issues. So, more and more people have to limit the usage of personal vehicles. In order to achieve that, the government must put strict regulations on the usage rather than the ownership of automobiles. To conclude, traffic authorities must enforce rules to impose heavy fines on individual automobile owners who travel alone with a lesser capacity in the cars and encourage them to take public buses or trains. Additionally, they should enrich the rules to control congestion issues.