Should governments spend more money on improving roads and highways, or should governments spend more money on improving public transportation (buses, trains, subways)? Why? Use specific reasons and details to develop your essay.

Governments decide where to allocate big amounts of money, so they can choose if spend more money on improving roads or on improving public transportation. In my humble opinion, it would be better if most of the money would be given to enhancing buses, subways and trains. In fact, this would help not only the environment but also the people who can’t afford a car and it would also improve the economy of residential zones. To commence with, it is important to say that one of the main factors to consider is the environment. In fact, in the last few years, we had a lot of problems regarding climate change. Nowadays we have to face a tragic situation because the temperature is becoming higher over the world, some areas will be submerged because of the raising of water and many species are almost extinct. A solution, for instance, could be to use public transportation, without using our own cars every day. This could help to not make fewer emissions of CO2. Secondly, improving public transportation could help people who can’t afford a car. Today the cost of living is higher than in the past for several aspects. Give the possibility to everyone to travel easily is right. In this way, there not would be social discrimination towards those who can’t have their own car. Furthermore, it’s better for an area to have efficient public transportation. In fact, it could help to increase the economy and the demographic situation of that. For instance, if in a residential area near to a city there is the possibility to take buses and trains people could decide to go to live there, because even if they are not living in a big city, they can easily reach it. In this way also the local activities such as shops and supermarkets improve their incomes because they can have more customers. In conclusion, even if obviously roads and highways are important, probably it’s better to try to invest in public transportation in order to have more vantages not only for the citizens but also for the environment, that for us is essential.