Young people should spend more time on cultural activities such as music and theater and less time on sport. How far do you agree with this statement?

Due to the changing social demands, it is often controversial what kinds of skills and knowledge young people should gain for a better future. While some people argue that they should spend more time on cultural activities such as music and theatre than playing sports, I strongly disagree with this view for the following reasons. On one hand, it is undeniable that music and theatres play significant roles in educating young people. In fact, in modern society when the young have a more distant life apart from their parents and grandparents, these cultural resources are essential ways to fill their ignorance about historical events. For example, a movie called "9.11" is based on the fact that terrorist groups attacked the World Trade Center in New York by plane in 2011. This deeply analysed movie allows young adults to understand the tragic event and reassure the importance of protecting the peace in the world. In addition, the advanced sound and animation effects have a strong impact on their minds and as a result, they are less likely to forget about the valuable experiences in the theatre. Therefore, some people consider that they should spend more time gaining sophisticated knowledge from theatres that they normally learn from textbooks at school. On the other hand, the importance of such cultural activities does not undermine the effect of exercise. In fact, obesity has become a serious concern among the young because of the increasing tendency of their sedentary life with the prevailing use of smartphones and computers. This is proved by the data that 10% of elementary school children are diagnosed as overweight, which leads to growing awareness of the significance of regular exercise to maintain their health. Consequently, I believe that playing sports should be strongly recommended at schools and homes to protect their wellbeings. In conclusion, there is various knowledge in music and movie that young people cannot learn in the real life. However, I strongly support that the pressured health issues of small children affected by continuous sedentary lifestyles prioritize the importance of exercise to maintain their health.