In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasize that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Due to the impact of globalisation, the global market has become immensely competitive, and this prompts businesses to develop and apply different strategies to compete for their market shares. One of those is advertising new features of their products. This essay will explain the intellection and present my evaluation of this occurrence. The root of why businesses usually place emphasis on their products is that they want to satisfy consumers’ demands to gain their market shares, which contributes to making profits. As the young generation (gen Z) tends to spend on an array of things to maintain their quality of life, such as buying new clothes, technological devices, or cosmetics, many brands emerge to produce these items to meet the young’s demands, however, there are a wealth of the same products manufactured by many companies. As a result, companies resort to creating and promoting their products through integrating new features, which can draw the public’s attention. Once this strategy takes effect, consumers will have the propensity to purchase these new products to experience, helping companies to increase market shares. I believe this development is negative because of its detrimental effects on the environment and consumers’ mentality. When customers are exposed to advertisements with increasing frequency, they can be easily lured into buying things regardless of need and tend to throw them after several uses. These unused products will be transferred to landfill and end up being incinerated or treated chemically, therefore, an excessive amount of exhausted fumes and toxic substances are released into the atmosphere and water, posing threats to the environment. Apart from that, advertising promotes consumerism which implants people’s minds that they have to equip everything necessary to catch up with others. Companies take advantage of this psychological feature to downplay consumers’ self-esteem by introducing and convincing them to purchase their specific products to avoid insecurities and vulnerability. In conclusion, it is undeniable that the emphasising on new features brings about a host of benefits for both businesses and consumers; however, I personally think the negative impacts of ownership are conditioned to aspects of the environment and consumers’ mentality.