In the future, nobody will buy printed newspapers or books because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In recent years, with the uprise of the tech-savvy generation, many use the internet as a mediator of their work. Some states that the printed versions of newspapers or books will be decaying as many opt for an online free version rather than buying hard copies. I completely disagree with the above-mentioned and in this essay, I will elaborate on the reasons for the impossibility of complete digitalization in books and newspapers. Firstly, there is limited access to free versions of online books and newspapers. If every literature product was freely available to the community, the printing companies and the eminent authors will get bankrupt in some time. The premium features are only given access once a substantial fee is paid. For instance, authors, editors, and journalists take so many precautions to save their work such as lawsuits, and copyrights until it is ready to publish. So that if one were to wrongfully upload their original work before the right time, they will be facing repercussions like billion-dollar lawsuits or jail time. Secondly, online resources are intangible and only work with a good internet connection. When the network is bad, reading materials online becomes a hassle, whereas it is less challenging with books. For example, a number of rural areas have no electricity or access to the internet so those communities will have no way to find online documents. So lack of good internet connection and electricity will become a drawback for online editions. In conclusion, it is evident that it is impossible to have a complete shift in the way people choose to read books and will not be completely digitalized.