Nowadays, more and more older people who need employment compete with younger people for the same jobs. What problems this causes? What are the solutions?

Finding a job is becoming more competitive these days. Even older people have to keep working and compete with younger job hunters to get hired somewhere. This essay will discuss the factors contributing to this trend and follow up on measures to address the problem. This problem is caused by a number of reasons, but the main reason is the imbalance in job demand and supply, which leads to insufficient employment opportunities in the post-market. The number of people looking for work far exceeds the number of post providers. Therefore, if young adults want to land a job, they must compete with older, more experienced people. Rising living costs are another reason. The cost of living is rising faster than job opportunities, so older people are afraid of not having enough money to cover their daily lives, competing with younger job seekers to ensure they can make a living. There are several measures that can be taken to address the above problems. First, the government should create more jobs. More opportunities mean that the younger generation does not need to compete with older people for certain positions. Secondly, the pension payment of the elderly can be improved so that the elderly will retire on time when they reach the retirement age and they do not need to work at this age any more, for example, after the age of 65. Last but not least, the government could subsidize housing and some community services to reduce the cost of living and expenses. In conclusion, based on the above evidence and analysis, the imbalance between job supply and demand and rising living costs are the two main reasons for competition at work between young people and senior citizens, and these problems can be solved by generating more employment opportunities, increasing pensions and reducing the cost of living.