When you learn a foreign language, all four skills (listening, reading, speaking, writing) are equally important. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Language is a method for communication, not only a bridge for people ’s connections but also a tool for relationship building. When we met a new person, we need to build a new relationship, except the eyes contact or a smile, we just need the language to communicate, and let him or her know what we mean and what we want to express. Therefore, all four skills (listening, reading, speaking, writing) are equally important, because the four skills complete a full conversation, if we lost one of them, the conversation is invalid. For example, if I just speak without listening, it’s a ‘one-way talk’ not a conversation; On the other hand, if I only used the skill of listening, I don’t talk to others,and I could not fully express my mean to foreign people, it was not a full conversation. Learning a foreign language is a difficult thing but worth to do it, even if it was hard and tiring. I had ever heard a story from ‘the Bible’, for long long time ago, we all speak the same language, but one day, God wants to punish the people due to people were trying to build a high tower in the sky, so God separated the language, let people could not communicating to each other. This is a Bible story about the language. The interesting thing is there were at least 7102 languages in the world, but I only used Mandarin and English. In conclusion, the four skills of learning a language are same equally important to everyone who want to know a new language, even learning another new language is hard and tough, but it is worth to do it.