Air traffic is increasingly leading to more noise, and airport construction. One reason for this is the growth in low- cost passenger flights, often to holiday destinations Some people say that governments should try to reduce air traffic by taxing it more heavily. Do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, air traffic has grown rapidly, mainly because of the rise in low-cost airlines offering affordable travel to holiday destinations. This growth has caused more noise pollution and led to more airports being built. Some people think that the government should put higher taxes on air travel to reduce this problem. I partly agree with this opinion, although there are also other things to consider. On the one hand, increasing taxes on air travel could help reduce the number of flights. If ticket prices become more expensive, fewer people might choose to fly, especially for short or unnecessary trips. This could help lower noise pollution and reduce the need for new airports. Moreover, the money collected from taxes could be used to improve train systems or invest in cleaner transport methods, which could offer good alternatives for travellers. However, there are also some problems with this idea. Firstly, taxing flights more heavily may mainly affect low-income travellers who depend on budget airlines. Richer people will still be able to afford to fly, while others may lose the chance to travel. Secondly, tourism is very important for the economies of many countries, and reducing the number of tourists could have negative effects on jobs and businesses. Also, in some countries, there are no good alternatives to air travel, especially for long distances. In conclusion, while increasing taxes on air travel may help reduce some environmental and noise problems, it could also bring economic and social issues. I believe governments should take a balanced approach. Instead of only using taxes, they should also promote other types of transport and improve travel infrastructure.