Many people believe that TV news and media in general have a detrimental effect on our life. Do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give your own opinion, including relevant examples.

Nowadays, there is an enormous source of news, which is accessed on TV or the internet. I completely agree with the idea that the news on TV and other media has harmful effects on people ’s lives. To begin with, there are many fake and misleading news stories, which are based on rumours and invalid sources, so they can have negative effects on people who watch and hear them. For example, unreliable news can create confusion and misunderstanding among people because they cannot recognize what news is fake and what news is real or fake news about medical treatments or diseases can lead people to make wrong decisions, which can have irreversible impacts on their lives. As a result, they lose their trust in the news outlets. Furthermore, Violent news stories including bloody scenes of war or accidents can cause mental illnesses such as anxiety, depression, and isolation. For example, ISIS influenced people ’s lives negatively in a short period, because it was headline news and could increase fear among people because they thought that they may be the next victim. Some people may argue that the news can improve general knowledge from all around the world in all subjects such as economics, history, culture, and geography. However, there are better sources of information like books, magazines, and documentaries, which do not have those negative impacts and can be instrumental in improving knowledge. In conclusion, I believe that news has more harmful effects than positive ones since it may not collect by a valid news outlet, and many people can confuse by it. Moreover, it can be harmful to health. Anyone who considers it as a way to increase general knowledge should know there are many alternative sources of information, which are not harmful.