In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasis that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Depicting innovation, and novelty in products has become the new communication lingo for companies. They always try to depict something new,or unique about their commodities. In this,essay, we shall discuss the reason for the same and analyse, the trend from the end of pros and cons with relevant examples. First and foremost, buying to an extent depends on the buyer's psychology. Unless and until the client is convinced of a unique proposition, he will not be induced to buy a product. So it would be very relevant to package communication in such a way that it appeals to the psyche. To cite an example Apple communicates a change in microchips for their upgraded model though efficiency change in terms of general usage is minimal. Secondly, if the same is not done, demand for a product would be stagnant which would be detrimental to economic interests. So it is done to influence customers in buying, which he would have otherwise avoided. On the contrary, this practice, is somewhat deceptive from the perspective of ethics, making the consumer gullible to such informative malpractices. He may end up paying more for something which may not be unique. For,example, several toothpaste companies advertise a unique proposition to command attention, although in,essence it is a fluoride toothpaste. The user gets influenced by the deceptive idea of extra value and new, whereas in, the reality it is the same. Thus, conclusively we can say that though there are merits, lying in creating constant demand, the demerits are more ethical in nature. However, in view of larger economic,interest the positives are a greater good than the negatives.