Shop should not be allowed to sell any food or drinks that have been scientifically proven to be bad for people's health. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Convenience foods are growing in popularity and becoming a significant feature of modern life in many countries. Some people hold the view that unhealthy proven food and drinks should be banned to sell in shops. I agree with this statement to some extent. On the one hand, there is no doubt that food that has poor quality and harmful ingredients could severely affect human health after consumption for a long duration. Processed foods have a lot of additives as well as a lack of essential nutrients, so they can cause malnutrition or chronic diseases. The most familiar example of this issue is in some developed countries such as the UK, fresh and locally-produced food has virtually disappeared, and is instead by convenience food such as fast foods, junk foods, or sophisticated ready-prepared microwavable meals. It leaves the consequence of a high rate of obesity, diabetes, and cancer. This problem should be addressed constructively to reduce the medical burden in the countries. On the one hand, in today’s fast-paced life, convenience food is an attractive option that people can opt for if they do not have enough time to cook. These types of food have advanced in terms of quality and quantity, and the range for sale in supermarkets is quite impressive. For example, some well-known brands like McDonald’s or Pizza Hut have many branches all over the world. This partly helps governments to deal with unemployment as well as contribute to the country’s economy. Therefore, this cannot be prevented completely due to economic sound and human demand. From what have been discussed above, we may draw the conclusion that despite the adverse effects of unhealthy food and drinks on people’s health, banning these types of food is quite excessive and difficult to enforce measures. Instead, people should limit its utility.