Many people say that smacking children is good way to make children disciplined. Do you agree or disagree?

Several individuals believe that beating children is a perfect method of discipline. I, however totally disagree with this idea. The essay below will discuss this view at length. To begin with, smacking young people does not help in shaping their characters. It actually affects them mentally and sometimes emotionally. For example; a study by Thebe in 2017 found that more than 87 per cent of adults who are depressed have been physically abused by their parents or guardians and about 56 per cent of children who beat others at school came from homes where beating someone is not a big deal. Therefore, I disagree with the thought that the rod is a good way to instil good behaviour as the results prove otherwise. Furthermore, I believe communicating with youngsters is a better way to teach obedience rather than being physical with them. Parents may also teach their children about the importance of listening and the dangers of ignoring their teachings. For instance, Leo Cleo did research on the effectiveness of communication when disciplining children at home. 68 per cent of adults interviewed said talking calmly to the youths seems to work better than shouting or hitting. While a small percentage referred to the bible and said, ´spare the rod and spoil the child`. I, however, do not support the idea that young people must be beaten as a way of fostering discipline, adults must learn to talk out their problems. To conclude, I totally disagree with the view that youngsters must be smacked so be obedient. There are numerous ways such as communicating with love which does not affect their mental and emotional state. These and other issues are discussed above.