Some people argue that we should do research into their family history. Others, agree with the view that we should focus on the present and future generations. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There are controversial perspectives heating up a debate over whether or not to focus on families in the past. While some hold a strong view that it is necessary to research households in history, the opposite makes a statement that the present and future are the periods that we should pay attention to. While the former is valid to some extent, I would go for the latter. Without a shadow of a doubt, the historical time is of essence to make inquiries. Historical research lends a helping hand to people to have a deep knowledge of family trees and understand traditions of family, thereby they may preserve vocational skills. For example, carpentry and weaving can be cited as the remarkable professions which need to be preserved and passed onto future generations to avoid disappearing. Therefore, the source of knowledge in history is quite imperative. On the other hand, in some cases, we should not dig into the family’s history but must focus on the current and future. The main reason for this point is that the presence of the family is extremely significant for each individual in this day and age. They are the people who regularly present to give family's members assistance promptly when anyone in the family has great difficulty. For example, some of those may be parents, cousins, siblings and relatives, who are the one you can turn to for help. As a result, each person should concentrate on not only spending time but also looking after them to strengthen the bonds among family members. Hence, the role of families in the present or future is the main aspect that they need to research. In conclusion, though understanding family in the past or in the future may have its own pros, I believe that focusing on today and tomorrow may be more important.