A government's role is only to provide defence capability and urban infrastructure( such as roads and water supplies). All other services ( education, health, social security) should be provided by private groups or individuals in the community. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Some people who narrow their opinion of governance, believe that the role of the state is restricted to the defence and building of tracks and ensuring potable water for its citizens. Everything else, like studies, hospitals and social safety, should be the prerogative of private players and individuals. I totally disagree with the opinion and in my essay shall elucidate the same with suitable examples. First and foremost, it is the welfare of the population, which should be of paramount importance to the nation. Matters of defence are as important, as education. Similarly, if inland pathways are critical, communal health deserves equal understanding. Leaving critical areas to private enterprises subsequently would hamper development because these areas are capital-intensive,which at times is beyond the scope of private endeavours. For,example, the authority's role in developing the social sector and healthcare has played an important part in community development in Canada. Thus regime should lead in the critical capital-intensive space. In addition, leaving vital parameters of development like schools, clinics, pensions, and rations to private players will encourage profiteering and restrict its availability to all sections of society. As a,result the gap between the rich and the poor will increase and it may lead to social unrest. To cite an example, in countries like Nigeria where private health care is the only option, the cost of healthcare is abnormally high, which is a source of discontent for the people.. Thus profiteering and exploitation will happen if the authority does not take responsibility. Thus, analysing the above, we can conclusively say, it is of paramount importance, that the government does not restrict itself to defence and transport infrastructure but extends its role to other important areas like medical facilities, schools, and colleges, ensuring social safety net. The private can best complement the efforts of the state.