Some people think parents should supervise their children’s activities closely, while others believe children should have more freedom. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In today's society, there are many opinions in terms of child -rearing and supervision, some believe that children should be supervised closely, while others believe that children benefit from being able to play more independently. In this essay, I will discuss both sides and give my opinion. Firstly, supervision from an adult is an important part of insuring that a child is performing an activity safely, as a consequence thinking is not yet fully developed until the age of 21. Children need guidance and support to grow and develop to understand society and the world around them. For example, morals and social interactions are important life skills that can be difficult for a child to understand without the support of a grown-up. For example, if a child sees a toy that another child is playing with that looks interesting to them, they are most likely going to snatch the toy from the other child, without reflecting on the reaction. In situations like this guidance from a parent or teacher, is needed. Otherwise, the child might grow up to believe it is okay to take what you want without considering others. On the other hand, too much supervision might also impact a child ’s independence and hinder their development. With that I mean, if an adult constantly interferes and corrects the way a child is playing or performing an activity, their sense of autonomy, and skills such as; problem-solving, creativity, and imagination might be affected. For instance, if a child is practising dressing themselves, and the adult constantly adjusts and changes the clothes, the child is going to end up feeling like their attempts and decisions don’t matter in the end. In conclusion, my opinion is that children most certainly need supervision and guidance to stay safe and grow in new unfamiliar situations. However, children also need space to explore and be able to form their own identities and personality. I believe that supervising should be done in a way that respects the child ’s autonomy.