Some people think that exams are a good way of assessing a student’s level. Other people believe they put unnecessary pressure on young learners and tell us very little about their abilities. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Some contend the most effective approach to analyse a student's intelligence level is by means of in-class examinations, whilst others argue this approach is an ineffective way of learning as it causes stress to pupils. This essay will demonstrate both sides of the argument before drawing my opinion. Lets us commence with the view of those who believe that examinations are a reliable indicator to test pupils' proficiency because they think that by using this method students are training their minds to cope with real-life stress. Consequently, this approach is making them mentally strong to survive in this world. For instance, a Cambridge University study discovered that Indian school-going children are more capable to deal with undue stress because their education system is focusing more on theoretical learning to pressurise pupils in order to teach them to deal with real-life stressful events. On the other hand, others argue examinations are an ineffective way because it puts unneeded pressure on youngsters during their learning stage. They think that practical information is a significantly far better method to reveal young learners' efficiency because by doing so they can have in-depth education on the topic rather than just the theoretical information. For example, the UK University conducts multiple choice questions rather than long written exams to test the real learning of their students. This approach supports them to focus more on the topics studied in the class. In a nutshell, even though examinations is a reliable tool to test students' ability because it assists them to deal with various uncertain situations in their life, I believe that practical education should take precedence because it not only supports young learners to have a deep knowledge of a subject but also improves their concentration power. Thus, in my opinion, exams are not a great way to reveal someone's real IQ because they put the learners under stress.