Some people think all lawbreakers should be put into prison, while others believe that there are better alternatives. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.”

A section of society believes that criminals should be kept behind the bars, however, the remaining masses suggest some constructive plans. This essay intends to analyze both statements in detail, whereas in my opinion offenders should be kept in prison as per the law. To commence with, the main reason to place criminals behind the bars is to set an example so that city dwellers can strictly follow the law. In other words, if a criminal after committing the crime will be in jail, then people will not break the rule and avoid illegal activities such as theft, wrong driving, smuggling etc. For example, a recent survey by "The Newyork Times" in Dubai states that due to keeping offenders in jail, the crime rate in the city has been reduced to 70% which is a remarkable achievement. Therefore, in my opinion, to sustain peace and law, criminals should be placed behind the bars. On the other hand, some people opine that there should be other methods to treat criminals rather than prison. one such effective method is to charge heavy fines against them. Due to this action masses will follow laws and will not commit any offence. To cite an example, a recent report by Oxford University reveals that due to heavy penalties against crime, 50% of offenders quit illegal activities and become normal citizens. Hence Government should apply heavy fines against criminals. In conclusion, Although, huge penalties can be applied against criminals, In my point of view, to sustain peace and law, criminals should be placed behind the bars.